//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Missouri Prairies

The prairies are nobody’s fool. They may have been mishandled, abused, overused, overburdened or become the inexplicable fall guy in a world where shirking responsibility or passing the buck left them vulnerable to continual decline. They’re making a come back. How? Why? Read about Bonnie Teel in Missouri. I might not be from the Midwest, but I did go through St. Louis once on a Greyhound and what an experience that was, to be saved for another blog and time. I hope to meet Bonnie Teel one day and say, “You make conservation so cool!”  Maybe next time, I won’t just go through St. Louis.

In the meantime, I’m dreaming about the prairies and about to throw some more beets into my salad. My Ukrainian grandmother may never have traveled through the US or even imagined the Missouri prairies. Maybe someday I’ll grab this card that she gave me in which she called me “моя киця (pronounced Moya kitsya),” which in Ukrainian means “My little kitten” and get to the prairies with her in spirit.

I know one thing. If I were a little kitten I’d bet I’d love to walk through Missouri’s beautiful prairies.

Enjoy imagining yourself in the remarkable prairies of Missouri.

https://writingclimatechangebackintohistory.wordpress.com/land-conservationists/

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Missouri Prairies

  1. I’ve never been to the midwest either. Have been to Texas though and saw what I thought were prairies. I think eventually everything will reverse itself and get better. Just have no idea how long that will take. Not in my lifetime.

    Posted by Marvin Green | April 11, 2014, 3:19 pm
    • I hope you do get to see the Midwest. Texas was very interesting to me, when I went through there. When I went through Missouri, it was late at night so I saw nothing unfortunately. I hope that things do reverse, but unfortunately apathy is so constant among so many who won’t support the sustainable businesses or take steps that are positive. Plus you have the big polluters that need more pressure. However, my need to see some positive change is one of the reasons why I find Bonnie Teel’s effort so positive. I’m trying lately to focus on the positive things going on, because otherwise it can feel overwhelming. I hope that there will be some progress, as much as possible in your lifetime Marvin. 🙂

      Posted by ourgreenchallengesantarosa | April 11, 2014, 3:31 pm
  2. UCS announced 3 large companies recently committed to forest friendly palm oil… yay

    Posted by Veronica "Roni" Jacobi | April 16, 2014, 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

